Photos from Soulstice (and a short recap)


Now I can say that I experienced the Soulstice Mountain Run, and I will be back.  Not knowing what to expect (8000+ foot elevation, cold, real mountain trails, I dehydrate easily at altitude) I took it very conservatively and am glad that I did as I was able to enjoy the scenery, weather and good vibes that the race puts out.

I almost blew a gasket Friday night when we were eating at Pita Jungle and got a call from my daughter saying that the bag we left at my in-laws with my sons clothes for the weekend really contained our items including some of my running stuff (Race Caps Supreme!).  After the beer helped me to relax and my OCD mellowed out I was able to enjoy the rest of the night. The packet pick up at Pay N Take was a nice gathering of folks collecting their bags and shirts (both of which are nice-I really like the bag idea), drinking beer and watching the Diamondbacks loose game 5 in 10 innings.  Here is a picture of the shirt and bag.

There was a nice gathering prior to the race where I met a few of the locals and was able to see some of the new footwear and bags from Salomon running, and some of the offerings from Aspen Sports. There were lots of obstacles that being from the desert (1500 feet elevation) were new to me.  Obstacles like frozen mud (think black ice), large puddles with a thin ice layer on top, fallen trees over the trail, in other words common trail race stuff.

Here are some of the pictures I took along the way.

image

North Campus at NAU taken from our room at the Drury Hotel.  If you stay here each guest gets a ticket good for 3 free beers or drinks and a happy hour and breakfast buffet.  Pretty nice.

image

image

image

image

 

 

image

image

image

 

Here is a video I took, the title will explain all of it to you.

You have never seen a recovery mojito?

image

2 thoughts on “Photos from Soulstice (and a short recap)

  1. Bryan, glad you enjoyed the race. It is always fun for me to see photos on the course. Mind if I link your page on natra.org? Lots of photos have been posted in the past two days. Cheers, Neil

Leave a Reply

