Back at it


After a few hiccups in the road over the past few weeks (mother breaking her femur, grandmother falling and losing an eye, wife getting a broken nose) I think that I am finally ready to get back to training.  One good thing about all of this is that it puts your life and priorities in perspective.  Especially when you combine what has happened to my family and think of all of those people who lost everything and more in the recent tornado outbreaks.

This morning I was able to get out for a 55 minute run with Miles as the sun was rising.  It was a beautiful way to get back in the swing of training.  I am thinking of signing up for the Mad Dog 50K in October, but would also like to sign up for some races during the summer.  I will need to either travel to Flagstaff or out of state as no one wants to put on a summer race in the Phoenix area.

I hope that this holiday weekend is good to my training and I can get out to Deems Hill to run some mountain-like laps on the trails. Although I have read that the rattlesnakes have taken over portions of the trails there.  Bobcats out here or the snakes over there.  Tough choice.

I had 2 promotional interviews in the past few weeks, haven’t heard back on either one, not sure if I honestly want either job.  My current job has to be the most accommodating job in all of State service, but I do feel like it is time for a new challenge and some extra money. If it is meant to be it will be.

Until next time I will leave you with this nugget of wisdom…

Parenting…the days seem long but the years seem short. All in perspective.

One thought on “Back at it

  1. Hah! Yes, most of my friends have kids and say something similar to “days seem long, years seem short.” From my perspective, this seems like one of the plusses of parenting, because I can tell you (as someone who has no children) the days *and* the years seem short! A year now feels like 5 months used to feel, say, in my 20s.

    I respect that you hold space in your psyche for running, even when external events sometimes make it impossible.

    { twitter = @danenow }

Leave a Reply

