The holidays are upon us


Lately I have thought that anyone who can train and stick to the driest during the holiday season is a very motivated person.  I have had some problems keeping on it during this time of year, thus a few bad races, but I have also had my 2 best marathons in early January, including my only 2 negative split marathons.

Right now I am not really training for any specific race, I am just running and mixing in the occasional race.  This Saturday I will be doing the Arizona Boy Scouts 10K in Peoria.  No real goal time in mind, I just want to keep a steady comfortable but quick pace throughout and then at the finish see what my time/pace/etc is.  It should be fairly cool for Arizona this time of year, we had our first 2 days of below freezing this week which is a nice change.

My running has seemed to be progressing very nicely in the past 2 or 3 months.  My runs have been at faster paces, and my endurance has kept up fairly well considering I have not been cranking out any real long miles.  My longest run on the past 6 weeks is 10 miles. I don’t know what it is that has made the running seem easier.  I have been reading the book “Run” which lets you know that in almost any situation you could have run faster and gone further.  That has opened my mind up to seeing what my body can really do and I have been pushing it some.  I have also added flax-seed oil to all of my recovery drinks.  I don’t know how much that is playing into it, but that is the only real change in my training at the end of 2010 as opposed to my training in the beginning of the year.

A guy I follow on twitter (Boulderrunner) who I am very jealous of.  This dude gets to run next to Invesco Field almost any day for his hill training and he has taken a few pictures along the way.  One he took for me after I told him how jealous I was of his ability to train there. Here are the pics.

Pretty cool pics.

 

I will be in Sedona the week before Christmas, maybe I will run into Ryan Hall of the McMillian runners training at the high school.  If so there will be pictures and a possible mini interview.  Keep grinding out the miles, and remember to always run happy!

Leave a Reply

